Flash Fiction · How to be British · Language

Mo

Monday, June 19, 2017. Daily Brit Wit.

Mo:

Noun, in singular, informal

A short period of time.

"You sit on the edge of the lounge chair, sunglasses perched on the bridge of your nose, the smell of coconut and sunscreen heavy in the air, but no scent is as strong as the chlorine wafting by thanks to the pool. The sun is visible today, not even bothering to pretend to play peak-a-boo. It's rather lovely, you muse, leaning back onto your elbows with your face offered upward at the sun.

'Come into the pool, Jessie!' Your friends holler, barely heard over their raucous games. You jolt from your thoughts at the sound of your name and it takes you several seconds to realise why you heard it.

'Yeah, give me a mo, would you?' You shout back, scooting off the edge and stretching. 

Then a mischievous idea floats by like a forgotten pool noodle. You toss your sunhat, glasses, and coverup onto your chair and creep toward the pool. All your friends' backs are toward you; so, backing up a few paces, you launch into the pool, shouting nonsense."

8 thoughts on “Mo

  1. Just popping over from the Community Pool to say Hi. Your blog reminds me of another English language instructor, found at englishlanguagethoughts.com. We here in Canada don’t use “Mo” but I see it in British novels.

    If I may leave a suggestion, a Recent Posts Widget and a Follow this Blog widget would make your blog a lot more user-friendly. Without a Recent Posts list of your last 5-10 published titles, the reader has to scroll and scroll and scroll down the Home Page to see what you’ve written about and a lot won’t take the time. In my opinion, these two widgets are best installed in your right side bar.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for popping in as well as leaving feedback! I’m so used to viewing it from the app that I probably haven’t even considered how it’s format changes from app to web browser. I shall definitely look into the change! Thanks so much!! And I’ll certainly have to check out the other person this reminded you of. All the best! ๐Ÿ˜„

      Like

    2. Actually, the more I’m thinking of your comments, I’m a little confused. I do try to glance at it daily on a web browser, and there is a search button. And the last at least five most recent posts always pop up first. Could you be a little more specific? I went in and add the links for easier access for people to follow. But to be honest, that always pops up in the lower right hand corner of the blog in app and on computer.

      Like

      1. I’ll check this out. They didn’t appear on the page I saw — or see right now — on my computer. In the newer themes the most recent posts are often listed on the Home page, but that means (for the reader) switching back and forth to the Home page to see what else is there.

        Okay, I just pulled up your Home page and you’re right: your recent posts are listed there. As you interact with other bloggers over time you’ll be able to see what you like best and what works for you. Especially on a phone or app.

        Just for interest, check out https://crookedcreek.live and see how her “Blog” page is laid out. It’s rather unique! (I believe she has a paid theme.) But if you to to one of her articles that whole Menu disappears and you have to click back to find any other articles. Personally I think it’s a nuisance to have a Home page as well as an About page and a Blog page anyway, but to each his own (theme). ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I sincerely thank you for continuing to take the time to look my blog over and respond to my questions! ๐Ÿ˜Š So far, I haven’t had any complaints on layout, but then again that doesn’t imply much! ๐Ÿ˜… When I started, I did contemplate putting up a home button, but seeing as how I will have only one content type I didn’t think it would benefit me. Perhaps as I continue, I may change my mind? But, the main reasons I decided against it was the previous posts or similar posts available at the bottom and the fact one can search. I have had one or two friends give me feedback about the layout; then again, it’s nice to also have objective feedback by someone new. So for that, thanks!! And I’ll be sure to check that out! All the best! ๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

