bad mood · How to be British · Insomnia · Language · mini stories · tired

Knackered

Monday, May 8, 2017. Daily Brit Wit.

Knackered

Adjective, informal

Extremely tired; worn out or damanged by overuse. 

“The nurses’ station, when he glances at his watch to see two-oh-nine blinking back, is packed. The bustling motions are surprisingly soothing to his frayed nerves. He is knackered; but the sight of the nurses pushing onward, determined and merry, convinces him his switch to third shift won’t be all bad.” 

2 thoughts on “Knackered

  1. I love this word! I use it when I’m feeling really exhausted, but a good kind of exhausted; like I know I’ve worked hard and achieved something, even though I’m now done in. Otherwise I use ‘shattered’ when I’m feeling really exhausted, but it was not a good experience getting to that state! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a fantastic word, is it not? And I totally forgot about the difference between knackered and shattered! Yes, I could imagine the difference between the two kinds of exhaustion and the not fun it would be to reach shattered. Thank you so much for commenting! šŸ˜„

      Like

Leave a Reply

