Blogging · greetings · How to be British · Language · love · writing

Intro and fanfare

london-2239726_1280

So, I finally decided to make and post a blog. For the ones that know me, this is kind of new and a long thing coming. For newbies, hello and welcome and thanks for checking out my blog! And I promise I’m not always so cheesy in welcomings. Though, to be fair, I’m probably cheesy overall.

I’ve decided to make the first official blog post an introduction as well as a disclaimer of sorts. Let’s chat about what the blog is going to be about: the idea started roughly two months ago when a co-worker/friend and I were discussing various words in the English language. And somehow I started sprouting out variations on words. No, not like saying casaย for house. I’m talking about British English terminology. (As I struggle for an accurate example without giving up a word early. Hmmm….!) Like “loo” in England generally means “bathroom” to us Americans. Thus started my brilliant idea…. Now, fifty-odd days later, I’ve got a list that grows ever-longer and enough examples under my belt I feel more than comfortable sharing with more than a single friend.

Well, sorta. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜˜

The format is straightforward. Because I thought it clever enough to send the words to my friend like the dictionary’s Word of the Day, the format is similar. Plus, when one defines a word there’s honestly no room for creativity. Alas, I make the disclaimer that the definitions used for the words are three-way combination of my own, OED’s, and Apple’s definitions. The examples, however, are my own. The first few days are rather dull in comparison as time goes on. My friend refers to my sentences as “mini-stories.” โ˜บ๏ธ The majority of the words you will see actually are British. Occasionally, there will be phrases and terms that hail from Ireland, Scotland, Australia, and New Zealand. However, stranger yet, we will uncover what I refer to as “Old English” terminology (think Jane Austen and William Shakespeare); these are words that are not necessarily considered chieflyย Britishย but valuable and important words all the same.

I suppose I need also claim that I am, unfortunately, not British. I simply read a lot. And investigate new words like the proud little word nerd that I am. If you are British, however, and feel I am doing your words injustice, please feel free to point it out to me. (Politely, yes?) Also, if you do happen to be British and would like to be my consultant, let’s chat!

A final disclaimer: I am human, too, unfortunately, and will (undoubtedly) be prone to the occasional typo and grammatical errors. Yeah, I know: how boring and awful for the English graduate to miss something so plebeian! It’ll happen. Please be kind and point them out. Since I have several Brit Wits established, I ought to have such plebeian issues like grammar and typos taken care of. Still, on the off chance something does happen, let’s blame autocorrect, yeah?

15 thoughts on “Intro and fanfare

  1. Blog looks great, and I can’t wait to share it with others! I know several more word nerds who will apprecate it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so excited that you have it up and running!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well, I did scroll right back to the beginning to see what all words you’ve gone on about. (“Go on about” being a British expression.) Having just read a police procedural, I could add a few that were new to me, like “plonker” and “in the club.” And when I had an English penpal she wrote about her “fitted kitchen” and “warming closet.” Not to mention she lived in a “close.”

    Congratulations! You’ve written a lot of posts already. Maybe an Archives would be helpful?

    Do you mind revealing whether you are male or female and what region of the US you live in. Your friends will know this but new readers will likely want to find out a bit more about you before they sign on. We’ve all been taught to beware of strangers, you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! I enjoy finding fellow word nerds! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ My favorite word, hmm? Well…I have perhaps too many to count (sorta like favourite books); but for I really like the word persnickety. It’s not a British English word; I like the way it’s pronounced. Do you have a favourite or multiple? I’d love to hear!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha I do like the sound of that!
        My fave is quite “mundane”, it’s “moment”. No particular reason, I guess I like the connotation of that word… ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I suppose a love of words is why we’re all doing this blogging thing, although successfully shepherding a large amount of them so that they mean what you wanted them to is still a skill to be proud of. Enjoying you blog, I am British so I shall check in regularly to see how your translations are going. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

